OOTIKOF / KATZENJAMMER

The OOTIKOF, an internationally renowned society of flamers since 1998, invites you to join in the fun.
Clicking on Casual Banter will get you to all the sections.

HomeHome  PortalPortal  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

A Day in the Life of an Infosec Engineer Incident

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
The Wise And Powerful
Admin
Admin
The Wise And Powerful

A Day in the Life of an Infosec Engineer Incident Empty
PostSubject: A Day in the Life of an Infosec Engineer Incident   A Day in the Life of an Infosec Engineer Incident EmptyThu Oct 05, 2023 4:25 pm

A Day in the Life of an Infosec Engineer Incident ZMVjUks_d

Well, I figured, why not write this? I've been in IT for 10 years and in Infosec since 2019. I got into Infosec because I had dreams of being a hacker, but I'm not good at it, so I stuck with defending.

Here's a story about a breach I experienced at my last job; details have been changed to protect the identity of the company.

My last company was in telecom. I started in their NOC (Network Operations Center) and moved into Infosec. During my time in the NOC, I learned a lot, especially about how the company's VoIP product worked, which ended up being helpful for my story. I used to dive into the logs to figure out why a customer was having an issue. I was also really knowledgeable about the entire backend and how everything flowed. Eventually, I got promoted to the Infosec team because of this knowledge.